Managing users, project members and activity restrictions
Working with high level user roles
Access to the platform is based on assigned user roles, this is done via the Admin panel or via your SSO service (if integrated). There are 3 general user roles:
- Client Admin - can manage users, edit all products, projects and content
- Editor - can see all projects with in the product they are a member of, create and edit projects
- Contributor - can only see and assist on specific projects they are made a member of
Additionally there are also:
- Utility User - an 'add on' role that extends Utilities access to non admins
- Zengines Admin - Super Admin role that has complete platform and project access, this used for full platform support. It can be controlled from the platform Admin view as part of User Management.
Managing project members and restricting activity on a per project basis
Users are added as members to projects, if a user creates a project they are automatically added to it.
Within a Data Migration project, members can have specific activity restrictions set for that project. These currently are:
- Add/remove members and manage member restrictions
-
View data files
-
Delete files and project assets
-
Upload files
-
Download files
-
Lock/unlock project items
- Client Admins always have project access and the right to add/remove members and manage member restrictions.
- Client Admins that are not a project member will not have the right to: View data files, Delete files and assets, upload files, download files, lock/unlock items. When added as a member these rights may be given.
- Editors can not manage the rights of Admins.
- Contributors can not be given the right to add/remove and manage member restrictions.
- Users can not remove themselves or edit their own permissions.
This allows for general users to have different rights in different projects, enabling projects to be set up with more restrictions where data or assets are more sensitive or critical.